Your number one Educational Website for South African Tertiary Institution Information.

Here all the information you might need about South African Universities that includes general information, application dates, and deadlines, courses, prospectus, and so on. 

South Africa has 26 public universities. They are located within nine provinces in South Africa and each province has at least one university. while there are five theological

Below is the list of all Universities and Colleges in South Africa. Every link has all the information associated with it.

Public Universities in South Africa

Traditional University

Institutions Location
University of Cape Town  UCT Cape town
University of Fort Hare  UFH Alice, East London, Bhisho
University of the Free State  UFS Bloemfontein, QwaQwa
University of KwaZulu-Natal  UKZN Durban, Pietermaritzburg, Pinetown, Westville
University of Limpopo  UL Polokwane, Turfloop
North-West University  NWU Mafikeng, Mankwe, Potchefstroom, Vanderbijlpark
University of Pretoria  UP Pretoria, Johannesburg
Rhodes University  RHODES Grahamstown
Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University   SMU Ga-Rankuwa, Pretoria
University of Stellenbosch  SUN Stellenbosch, Saldanha Bay, Bellville, Tygerberg
University of the Western Cape  UWC Bellville (Cape Town)’
University of the Witwatersrand  WITS Johannesburg

Comprehensive universities


University of Johannesburg  UJ Johannesburg, Soweto
Nelson Mandela University  NMU Port Elizabeth, George
University of South Africa  UNISA Distance education, headquartered in Pretoria, campuses and regional offices nationwide
University of Venda  UNIVEN Thohoyandou
Walter Sisulu University  WSU East London, Butterworth, Mthatha, Queenstown
University of Zululand  UNIZULU Empangeni

Universities of Technology

Cape Peninsula University of Technology  CPUT Bellville, Cape Town
Central University of Technology CUT  Bloemfontein, Welkom
Durban University of Technology DUT  Durban, Pietermaritzburg
Mangosuthu University of Technology MUT Umlazi
University of Mpumalanga UMP Mbombela
Sol Plaatje University SPU Kimberley, Northern Cape
Tshwane University of Technology TUT Pretoria, Mbombela, Polokwane, Ga-Rankuwa, Soshanguve, Witbank
Vaal University of Technology VUT Vanderbijlpark, Secunda, Kempton Park, Klerksdorp, Upington


Private degree-granting seminaries, institutes and colleges

Theological seminaries

Auckland Park Theological Seminary Johannesburg
Open Christian University Online, HQ in Bethal
George Whitefield College Cape Town
South African Theological Seminary Online (HQ Bryanston)
Baptist Theological College of Southern Africa Johannesburg


AFDA, The South African School of Motion Picture Medium and Live Performance Johannesburg
Boston City Campus and Business College Johannesburg, Pretoria
Cornerstone Institute Cape Town, Johannesburg, Hatfield, Nelspruit, Witbank, Eastern Cape, Hermanus, Helderberg, Plettenberg Bay, George
CTI Education Group
Damelin Durban, Johannesburg, Cape town, Pretoria, Pietermaritzburg, East London, Bloemfontein, Port Elizabeth
Doxa Deo School of Divinity
IMM Graduate School of Marketing Johannesburg
Inscape Design College Johannesburg
Management College of Southern Africa Durban
Midrand Graduate Institute Midrand
Milpark Business School Johannesburg, Durban, Cape Town
Monash South Africa Johannesburg
Oval Education International Cape Town, Durban, Johannesburg, Pietermaritzburg, Limpopo
Qualitas Career Academy Bloemfontein, George, Kimberley, Newcastle, Table View, Vanderbijlpark
Regenesys Business School Sandton
Southern Business School Distance Education
St Augustine College of South Africa Johannesburg
Stenden University South Africa Port Alfred
The Open Window School of Visual Communication Pretoria
Varsity College Cape Town, Pretoria, Durban, Johannesburg, Pietermaritzburg, Port Elizabeth
Vega Cape Town, Pretoria, Durban, Johannesburg